Book Guilt

My super power of choice is regeneration, mostly for the extended lifespan factor. It has all the benefits of vampirism without the drawbacks of blood thirst.

With this power, I could fearlessly jump from airplanes and save innocent victims from oncoming bullet trains. But I’m no daredevil. My adrenaline rushes when I’m reading something incredible. I’m the nerd level of Beast with Wolverine’s abilities.

And the award for most boring superhero goes to…

This idea is newly spawned every time I walk into a bookstore or indulge my Bookstagram addiction or take an “How Well Read Are You?” quizzes online. No matter how much I read, I’ve never read enough. Cue feelings of book guilt. I’ve never read enough. Thus the solution: live forever so that I can read everything.

Thus regeneration. It’s pretty straightforward: live long enough to read everything.

Every time I mention this to my husband, he is pesky with logical reasoning. For every book I read there are 50 more that remain unread and 200 more published each day. UNESCO reports 304,912 books are published each year in the United States alone. There’s just no catching up.

I’m proud to say I read 138 books in 2015 (one book completed every 2.5 days). It’s safe to say that this is around the extent of what I can do. Perhaps it’s not the amount that’s important, but the quality of the pieces and my enjoyment of them that matters more.

My voracity for the written word will not change in 2016, and for the years I have in store. Years may not be unlimited, but I’ll do my best with the time I have.

Whatever. Logic be damned.  I still want superpowers.

One thought on “Book Guilt

  1. Charlene Jimenez says:

    Wow! You’ve read a ton of books this year! That’s crazy incredible. I’ve often thought about what I could accomplish if I didn’t have to sleep. As much as I love to sleep, it would be awesome to never be tired. I like the sound of that.

    Like

Leave a Reply

